# **Western Hockey Masters History**

### 2021

<u>Overview:</u> Other than a couple of short, sharp lockdowns our West Australian hockey carried on as though nothing was wrong. The Interstate Masters mega tournament due for Newcastle was cancelled, though the Tokyo Olympics went ahead with all the stands empty. We managed to conduct the City versus Country matches again, and the annual Orthopaedic Challenge match was expanded to a gala carnival day with the addition of two new teams.

## Teams by Age Group:

'A' Division: Blue, Gold, Red and White. (Green team added as from 9th June)

'B' Division: Blue, Gold, Red and White.

'C' Division: Black, Blue, Gold, Green, Red and White.

Saturday O/65s: Blue, Green and White plus an increasingly frequent Maroon.

## **Office Bearers:**

President: Simon Thomson Vice President: Tony Jones Secretary: Neil Patterson Treasurer: Steve Farrar

Assistant Secretary: Bob Bowyer

Fixtures Secretary: Dan Hill

Data Base Administrator: Colin Gee
Uniforms Officer: Robin Bailey

Web Master: Cam Robinson A Division Coordinator: George Bradbury

B Division Coordinator: Adrian Gabriel C Division Coordinator: Colin Howell, Tony Jones

Saturday Rep: Les Waldon C Division Representative: Ken O'Driscoll

Social Secretary: Peter Jones Newsletter Editor: John Mercer

# **Team Captains:**

A Division Blue: Neil Scaddan

A Division Gold: Colin Gee

C Division Blue: Tony Jones

C Division Gld: Mike Sputore

C Division Green: Peter Andrews

A Division Red: Jim Wright

A Division White: Dave Horsley

C Division Red: Kevin Burton

B Division Blue: Dudley Evans C Division White: Wayne Cutler / Russell Wood

B Division Gold: Bill Campbell B Division Red: Mike Robinson B Division White: Jim Campbell

Player numbers: As at December, 2021 Colin Gee's counts were:

A Division 63 B Division 65 C Division 88 Goalkeepers 10

Volunteer umpires 0 Non playing registrations 9 This makes a total of 231 playing members including goalkeepers. Plus 240 past players.

<u>George Winning Trophy:</u> This year's winner was our long time member Colin Gee. He was the inaugural captain of our O/60 Gold side when it was formed in 2005 and has been looking after that team and its A Division successor ever since. He became the O/60s Committee representative in 2011 and continued in that role for the A Division up to 2018. The role of data base administrator began in 2014 with Colin as the first office holder and he has continued to work in this capacity ever since. This included the initial difficult installation of the Revosports system as from the 2021 season. The trophy is awarded for meritorious service, and Colin well and truly qualified.

# **Western Hockey Masters History**

### 2021

## Highlights:

- This year we all paid via the Revosports system. Some of us encountered various difficulties but with the assistance of data base administrator Colin Gee we all managed to register eventually.
- Bob Bowyer was made the first life member of Saturday Hockey Masters at the Christmas function in 2020 having done an outstanding job as Secretary/Treasurer since it was first formed.
- The post hockey socialising at Alderbury Reserve on Saturdays became a little more atmospheric after the changerooms and toilets were demolished for construction of a replacement building. A row of temporary toilets kept thing hygienic, if not aromatic.
- Many current (10) and past (4) players celebrated their 80th birthdays this year. Adding current players who already have passed this milestone, WA now has the numbers for a State O/80 side.
- The 6th Orthopaedic Challenge match was won 2-1 by the Knees.
- The inaugural Heart versus Cancer resulted in a 2-1 win to the Hearts.
- An expansion of the competition to 4 Divisions was agreed. This was to become effective as from 6th April 2022. The Divisions will be A (O/75), B (O/70), C (O/60) and D (O/50).

# **Charity Fund Donations:**

Bushfire Appeal via Lord Mayor's Relief Fund	\$2,000
Bushfire Appeal (Saturday Hockey)	\$1,000
Lord Mayor's Cyclone Seroja Disaster Relief	\$1,000
Next Steps WA (helping families escape DV)	\$1,000
Foodbank	\$1,000
	<u>\$6,000</u>

The Gala Day was a colourful affair



Simon Thomson, Bob Bowyer, Fabian Ross, Tony Jones Heath Tyrrell, David Lockett and Dudley Evans