QLD State Championships Report

Published Sat 09 Oct 2021

TURNBULL-MILLER takes out 2021 Queensland Impulse State Championships

SailWorld Article -

Regatta Results -

It what has been a remarkable year of sailing for Andrew TURNBULL-MILLER, he has taken out the 2021 Queensland Impulse State Championships, which were soundly conducted by the Humpybong Yacht Club, Woody Point, on the weekend of the 2nd and 3rd of October 2021.

The year has been remarkable for TURNBULL-MILLER, as he was also part of this year’s winning crew of “Wistari” which was the overall winner of the 2021 Brisbane to Gladstone Yacht race, and also was a crew member of “Sea Bass” which placed second in the PHS division of the Airlie Beach Race week. Not bad for a year of lockdowns!

Despite some last minute cancellations due to fear of a lockdown in South East Queensland, a healthy fleet of 21 boats contested the championships and competitor’s traveled from as far north as Yeppoon, with 7  different sailing clubs being represented in the regatta.

Day 1 of the regatta was held in very testing conditions, with veteran race organizers saying they had never seen conditions like it. Despite the tricky conditions, the Humpybong Yacht Club did well to get 3 races in. After the first day of racing, Andrew TRIGGELL from RQYS, held a slender lead over Darling Points Brett BUCKLEY.

Day 2 of the regatta was held in more favorable conditions in which a light sea breeze built up as the day progressed.

Racing was extremely tight across the fleet and this was demonstrated in that only 3 points separated 2nd to 6th placing.

Overall Placings:

1st “Boaty McBoatface” Andrew Turnbull-Miller, Darling Point Sailing Squadron

2nd “The Jester” Phil Gray, Maroochy Sailing Club

3rd “The Stink” Andrew Triggell, Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron

1st Senior “Slipknot” Joshua Young, Port Curtis Sailing Club

1st Master “Bedrock Fundamentals” Brett Buckley, Darling Point Sailing Squadron

1st Grand Master”Plymouth”, Mike Robinson, Keppel Bay Sailing Club

1st Great Grand Master, “Sapphire” Keith Briers, Oxley Sailing Club/Darling Point

1st Female, Rebecca Woodbury, “Wirraway”, Oxley Sailing Club

Next year’s QLD Impulse State Championships are proposed to take place at the Hervey Bay Sailing Club.