## **Henley & Grange Baseball Club Timeline**

- **1945.** A bunch of local lads formed a social baseball team in the Grange area. They were the Grange Beachcombers!
- **1946.** A local Scoutmaster, Tom Stevens, was their first coach. They nominated a team in the SABL and competed in Metro E Grade which was Division 7. The team was called Grange in its first season and it wore grey uniforms made from army surplus blankets with maroon lettering.
- **1947.** The club adopted the name Henley & Grange and played most games at Henley oval. Ray Thorne took over as secretary of the baseball club and continued in that role for many years. The <u>Ray Thorne Medal</u> is awarded for the senior player who averages the most umpires' votes.
- **1949.** Having won Metro B & C premierships in the two previous years the club is promoted to Metro A (Division 3) and the uniforms are changed to maroon with gold lettering.
- **1950.** H&G applies for district status, but the league awards it to Woodville instead. The club moves back to Grange oval.
- **1953**. H&G Metro A team plays in finals for 16 consecutive seasons and in 1954 to 1956 wins 3 premierships under coach Ken Rankine.
- **1955**. The club fields its first junior colts' team which contains Bob Price and Trevor McCarron.
- 1959. Peter Kemp & Doug Trevaskis start their baseball careers in the colts team.
- **1962**. After years of selling refreshments after games out of the boot of their cars and patronizing local pubs, H&G clubrooms are finally opened on November the 9<sup>th</sup> 1962. Members were all asked to contribute 600 pounds towards the building project and all were repaid in full. The club is still there today on the corner of Grange and Military road. The club was shared by the baseball, cricket and trotting club. The trotting track surrounded the baseball field and eventually the trotting club moved to Globe Derby.
- **1969**. The last Winter season before Baseball became a summer sport.
- **1969/70 & 70/71**. The Club wins 2 consecutive Ron Sharpe Division medals in Division 3. Gordon Penhall & Andy Seymour.
- **1973/1974.** Steve White returns to Henley & Grange to coach the Minor A team and wins premiership. Steve also wins the Ron Sharpe for the Best & Fairest in the division.
- 1974/75. The Club is promoted to Division 2
- **1975/76.** Scott Andrewartha wins the clubs first league medal in the juniors in the under 13 competition, Don Carter medal.

The club has its first American Import, David Rosenstraw and comes fourth in the Division 2 Capps medal.

**1977/78.** Murray Fielder is appointed club Coach and wins 2 division 2 premierships in a row. The players in those teams were:

Dexter Abroe Alan Piggy Morgan Bill Allen **Andy Seymour** Rob Cain Roger smoker Gary Challen Steve White Ian Chapman **Kevin Winton** Mick Clarke Players used in the 1979/1980 premiership Murray Fielder team that didn't play year before. S Headley Steve Irwin Dean Forbes Glen Lodge Wayne Leaves Ron Madigan Dean Taintey

1980/81. H&G competes for the first time in Division 1.

Gary Challen wins the clubs first Division 1 Capps Medal.

1982/83 Paul Roxby transfers from Sturt and plays first game for H&G.

1983/86 Steve Rex is appointed club coach.

1987/88 Dean Towill is appointed club coach. Club finishes 9<sup>th</sup> of 13

**1988/89** Club finishes 8<sup>th</sup> of 13.

**1989/1990** The club decided to move from the shared clubrooms with the cricket club and uses the grange royal's hockey club as its clubrooms. Club finishes 4th of 13

**1990/91** Club appoints Gerald Wagner as club coach and club finishes 4<sup>th</sup> & 5<sup>th</sup> for next few years.

1992/93 Club appoints Lawrie Moore as club finishes 4<sup>th</sup>

1993/94 Under Lawrie Moore finishes minor round 2<sup>nd</sup> but fails to make GF.

1994/95 Club moves to West Lakes Shore, Bartley Terrace.

1994/95 Club Makes grand final but loses to West Torrens 7 to 2.

Russell Dart becomes the second player in club to win the Division One Capps medal.

**1995/96** Lawrie Moore coach, Dean Forbes is president. Club wins Night ball grand final Club also wins its first Division 1 premiership against Sturt at home.

1996/97 Club appoints Neville Wright as club Coach and wins back to back premierships.

David Forbes **Premiership Players** Justin Smoker Troy Scoble Jon Mellor Adam Roe Scott Andrewartha Ass Coach Russell Dixon Steve Irwin Manager Rusell Dart 1996/97 premiership players under Neville **Mark Sanders** Wright & Scott Andrewartha **Graeme Hodges** Gerald Wagner Danny Bakurski Matt Higgs Dom Hodges Michael Forbes **Adam Nicks** Russell Hart **Andrew Taintey** Steve Yeatman **Ashley Rosenthal** Shane Mellor Peter Arnold Chris Jansenn Marc Taintev **Brett Conlon** Darren White Peter Moore **Brett Hughes** Ryan Simunsen Faye Forbes Scorer.

**1997/98** Club fails to win three in a row and finishes 5<sup>th</sup> losing the prelim final.