

2009 2.4mR Pittwater Regatta

Sailability NSW Pittwater Inc, 6-7 June 2009 story Peter Russell, results Allan Jones, photos Barbara Kendall





A jib-boom adventure for Greg on Sunday and a well deserved third place after challenging the Canberra crew







Michael Leydon first championship Peter Russell second championship Wal Wardle first pointscore

Michael Leydon is back in front with 5 wins at Pittwater!

June provided Pittwater perfect winter sailing in the sun and light breeze for the 2.4mR fleet including Michael Leydon and Peter Russell from Canberra with master-coach Lachlan Gilbert guiding Greg Hyde's new adventure. Race 1 saw Peter Russell run down by Michael Leydon at the finish after he threw away his lead struggling with boatspeed on the run. Michael led Peter off the line with Greg Hyde challenging in third to narrowly win race 2. Michael then finished the day in a dying breeze with a runaway win in Race 3 with Wal Wardle and Allan Jones squeezing Greg Hyde out of third.

Michael was out to win on day 2 and started with a close port tack start and picked up a right shift to comfortably win race 4. Greg Hyde was learning about jib booms having swapped from Kookaburra to Advance for the day. Peter Russell enjoyed a consolation win in race 5 with no mistakes in the shifting breeze. Michael Leydon completed his victory with a win in Race 6 on a shortened course as the breeze again died leaving the fleet strung out off Bayview. Michael was first with a perfect 5 points followed by Peter Russell with 9 points and Greg Hyde was third with 17 points.

The pointscore series was won by Wal Wardle with a series of third places, Allan Jones survived a boat change to finish second with Bob Bundock third after missing Sunday racing.

Thanks to Allan Jones and crew for organising the event and to Barbara Kendall for a great night out with daughter Holly providing a gourmet BBQ for the fleet.

Overall Results (drops = 1)

PI	Sail Num	Boat Name	Skipper	1	2	3	4	5	6	Net Points
1	27	Octopod II	Michael Leydon	1	1	1	1	(2)	1	5
2	30	Jeelka	Peter Russell	2	2	2	2	1	(2)	9
3	11 7	Kookaburra Advance	Greg Hyde	3	3	(5)	4	3	4	17
4	3	Aussie Storm	Wal Wardle	(6)	5	3	3	4	3	18
5	7 11	Advance Kookaburra	Allan Jones	5	(6)	4	5	5	5	24
6	5	Riff Raff	Bob Bundock	4	4	6	7 (DNS)	7 (DNS)	(7) DNS	28



A risky start to Race 4 secured the championship title for Michael Leydon



Close running style with Michael Leydon keeping out Peter Russell to win by seconds