

2016 2.4mR Pittwater Regatta

Sailability NSW Inc, Crystal Bay Branch 11-12 June 2016 Photos: Peter Everett

Peter Russell won the 2016 2.4mR Pittwater Regatta enjoying the variable conditions in a sunny break over Pittwater with Michael Leydon second and Troy Cortis third.

Greg was ill on Saturday night and wasn't able to race on Sunday but showed good skills to win race one in *Kookaburra* and challenge the regatta leaders. Michael and Tish were delayed and started race 1 late but after getting boxed out at the start of race two Michael romped away from the start to win races three and four. Tish consistently scored 7's but was getting closer to the leaders with every race as she works out what all the strings do. Michael Wooley's regatta was derailed before race one – the deck lifted of Riff Raff's stern as the backstay parted from the hull – a sinking disaster was averted but Michael had to limp to shore – and an OCS in race six didn't help Michael's score.

On Sunday Peter Russell enjoyed good starts in race five and six and managed to keep Michael Leydon on the wrong side in shifting winds to win the regatta. It was good to see FIN 184 sailing again with Troy Cortis at the helm – Troy finished third overall and we look forward to Troy joining us in future regattas – even overseas racing?? Simon Dunstone and Mark Durnan showed good speed at times – Simon finished fourth, two points behind Troy; and, Mark showed how to sail around the fleet to finish second in race two.

The Pointscore winner was Troy Cortis, ahead of Simon Dunstone and Mark Durnan.

It was good to see all the fleet including 2.4mR and Liberty yachts enjoying wind and sun for a brilliant weekend sailing. The race team led by Allan Jones provided challenging racing and unsurpassed hospitality for the weekend.



Greg Hyde leads the way in Race 1

Allan Jones (centre) leads the race management team

Overall Results (drops = 1)

PI	Sail Num	Boat Name	Skipper	1	2	3	4	5	6	Net Points
1	28	Morna VII	Peter Russell	(4)	1	2	2	1	1	7
2	27	Kurpitsa	Michael Leydon	(8)	5	1	1	2	2	11
3	45	FIN184	Troy Cortis	2	(6)	4	5	3	3	17
4	29	Tumbleweed	Simon Dunstone	3	4	(6)	3	5	4	19
5	32	Kookaburra	Greg Hyde	1	3	3	4	dns 9	dns (9)	20
6	47	GBR121	Mark Durnan	5	2	5	6	4	(6)	22
7	27	Octopod II	Tish Leydon	7	7	7	7	7	dnf (9)	35
8	13	Riff Raff	Michael Wooley	6	dns 9	dns 9	dns 9	6	ocs (9)	39