

2008 2.4mR Metung Regatta

and 11th 2.4mR Australian Championships Metung Yacht Club, 21-23 March 2008



Overall Results (drops = 2)

PI	Sail Num	Boat Name	Skipper	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	Net Points
1	30	Morna V	Peter Thompson	2	(140)	4	(7)	2	1	1	3	13
2	28	Jeelka	Peter Russell	4	2	3	1	(7)	2	(4)	2	14
3	13	Stardust	Aaron Hill	5	3	2	2	(5)	(8)	3	1	16
4	NZ1	Gunboat	Andrew May	3	1	1	3	3	(9)	8	(10)	19
5	27	Octopod 2	Michael Leydon	1	(14F)	(14S)	6	1	5	12	5	30
6	14	Adicted	Mathew Bugg	6	5	6	(9)	(8)	6	2	7	32
7	10	Gretel 2	Colin Brown	9	4	7	4	4	4	(9)	(12)	32
8	25	Futs & Fugly	Kim Williams	7	6	5	(8)	6	3	6	(8)	33
9	31	Jitterbug	Ron Bugg	(12)	8	9	5	9	(10)	5	6	42
10	18	Raglan	Mick Lemon	10	7	10	(11)	(11)	7	7	4	45
11	12	Southern Cross	Pamela Murray	8	9	12	10	10	11	(13)	(13)	60
12	29	Chuckle Guts	Ted Grubb	(13)	11	8	(14S)	12	12	10	11	64
13	9	Advance Australia	Peter Warren	11	10	11	12	(14F)	(13)	11	9	64



Tight racing was enjoyed by the fleet

Metung always seems to smile on the 2.4mR fleet with prefect conditions and convivial socialising!

The tight competition continued from Hobart with Peter Thompson winning by one point from Peter Russell appropriately on the 10th anniversary of his first Nationals win in 1998. Aaron Hill again finished third and is on his way to the Beijing 2008 Paralympics.

Michael Leydon suffered rigging failure leaving the first day lead to fellow New Zealander Andrew May. Peter Thompson and Peter Russell then stepped up and shared wins to seal the championship.

The handicap series was again won by Ron Bugg with a series of fifth places confirming his improvement. Mick Lemon who always grabs a handicap trophy was second with Peter Warren third in his first Nationals.



Peter Thompson first in 2008